My Guest Blogger today is Ria Cantrell:

My Writing Process – Blog Tour – Ria Cantrell

I would like to thank Kathryn Lynn Davis for inviting me to be part of this special event. Her support has been so appreciated.

1)      What am I working on? I am currently working on my fourth book in the Celtic Storm Series, called Knight Storm. In this story, we meet with Rhianna Du Montefort and Sir Erik Ragnorsen. Lady Rhianna is left to manage her estates and castle because her brother is missing and presumed dead after leaving on a campaign for the King. She is skilled in the arts of healing and has been known to foster the Ancient Gifts, including being a Seer. She is considered well past the age to marry, but has been happily managing her lands and tending to the people in the outlying village. 

Sir Erik Ragnorsen is a loyal vassal and soldier for the King. The king rewards his service with the promise of marriage and the acquisitions of lands to the Lady Rhianna, only Sir Erik wants no part in a marriage with an old spinster and a sorceress to boot. However, upon meeting the lovely and not so old Lady Du Montefort, Sir Erik is astounded by her strength and courage. He soon falls victim to her beauty and he finds himself hopelessly in love with her. Their story evolves when Sir Erik is called to protect the woman from many unseen foes and evil forces and he is caught up in the intrigue and whims of a king who may or may not be mentally sound. Rhianna and Erik must overcome many obstacles but their love aids them along the way.

 

2)      How does my work differ from others of its genre? I tend to use many practices of what is at times known as the “Old Ways”. I combine the beliefs of ancient paganism with Christianity and offer characters that would not normally be paired with one another. Many times, my stories have underlying psychological themes and sometimes my heroes and heroines have to overcome their own mental road blocks as opposed to outside forces that tend to thwart relationships in other stories. They have to break down their own walls and grow mentally, spiritually and emotionally. I add a dose of the paranormal and the unbelievable just for fun because I believe in the magic and the intrigue that we get from things that cannot always be readily explained, but more likely have to be fostered through faith.

 

3)      Why do I write what I do? I am an incurable romantic and I conjure up these stories to put unlikely couples together because I believe there are no limitations to love. I believe that love overcomes the hardest obstacles. For instance, in my latest book, Celtic Spirit, I have a 14th century Scottish warrior who gets stuck between time as a punishment for his less than honorable practices while walking the earth. His only hope is to learn love and to do an unselfish deed. The problem is that he is no more than a ghost and no one can sense his presence. Fast forward nearly 700 years and a modern woman finding herself out of work while on a documentary shoot in Europe, takes on a job in a Scottish castle. She is a sensitive and not only can she sense the presence of the reluctant hero, Derek Campbell, but she finds herself falling in love with him. I mean, you know, this could not probably actually happen, but I pair this unlikely couple off to find the greatest type of love. I love the idea of love that can withstand time and space.

 

4)      How does my writing process work? I am rather unconventional in my writing process. I am not one to make lists or flow charts or even a lot of notes. I get the premise of the story in my head and I form the characters in my mind before writing a single word. Then, once I have the bare bones of the story in my mind, I start writing it. Sometimes I actually write in notebooks and in reading back my words, I may scribble additions in the margins. My notebooks look like a bad traffic accident sometimes, but then, when I sit and type the story out, it sort of comes together. Many times, I just write as it comes to me and I can go for pages or even chapters without making any changes. I have always been really happy to write and words never seem to be at a loss when a story starts taking shape. I feel very fortunate about that. I admire people who are much more organized than I am, but that is my style and it seems to work for me. I also take liberties for the sake of the story. For example, if there isn’t a mentally unstable king in reign during the time period I create, I do not change it. It will stand. This gets me criticized at times with those who are “history” purists, but my feeling is that I am not writing a history book. I am writing a piece of fiction. If I wanted to read a history book, I would and therefore, that is how I write as well. I never claim factual events unless they are factual. My books are worlds of undaunted love, passion, magic and faith. I have a blast writing and I enjoy the emotional thrill ride of it all. I figure, if my story can make me cry, than maybe it can touch a reader in the same way. It seems to have worked so far for me. 

My Facebook Link is:

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Ria-Cantrell/314592691973723?ref=hl

My Amazon Link is :

http://www.amazon.com/Ria-Cantrell/e/B00I9ILS7Y/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1399332385&sr=8-1

 

Now I would like to introduce Dana D’Angelo and Serenity Vale who will be adding their blogs to the tour on May 12, 2014

Dana D’Angelo is first and foremost, a storyteller. Her stories have an interesting blend of romance, adventure, action, suspense and fantasy.

She is intrigued with the idea of writing romance fiction that could bring hours of enjoyment to readers, help them escape from reality, and perhaps remind them how sweet love is and should be. These are the things that she enjoys as a reader, and these are the things that she wants to give back as a writer.

Dana resides in a city east of Toronto, Canada. When not writing or reading, she’s dining at local restaurants with her husband and kids and enjoying the spectacular foods of the world.

Link: http://bygoneerastonow.blogspot.ca/

Serenity Valle writes multi-genre and is an Amazon bestselling author. Her latest adventure in writing is a series of paranormal mysteries. She has an awesome husband and some pretty adorable kids and is part Calo, a branch of the Romani people.

http://serenityvalleauthor.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

